Julie & Julia

I just watched ‘Julie & Julia’, the 2009 film that earned Meryl Streep an Oscar nomination (although, she has received sixteen Oscar nods, winning two… the fact that this wikipedia page exists is just so impressive).

It made me laugh, and it was a sweet and visually delicious film with lovely performances. Meryl, it goes without saying, was wonderful in a perfectly judged way. Amy Adams was good, but al lI could think was how much she looked like Cynthia Nixon at times. I greatly appreciated seeing Stanley Tucci as the supportive, humourous, intelligent, totally-in-love-with-his-wife Paul Child, as the last film I saw him in was ‘The Lovely Bones’, and he was haunting and frightening. Which was great, as he was meant to be repulsive and horrible, but I like Stan, and it was a pleasure to see him in a nice role!

In comparison to Julie Powell’s blog- the basis for the film in which she cooked 524 of Julia Child’s recipes over 365 days- my blog seems so very aimless… But that doesn’t really bother me. What does bother me is that I’ve just watched 123 minutes of fantastic cooking and beautiful food, and all I have in the fridge right now is a Cheestring.

But I’m so going to eat it.

3 thoughts on “Julie & Julia

  1. Krystal says:

    I loved this movie!!!

  2. Sara says:

    What bothered me was finding out her second book was all about how she cheated on her husband and it was awesome! Not very in keeping with Julia Child’s morals. But at least the movie was good. :-)

Leave a comment