Curiouser and curiouser

When I thought of writing this post, I was originally going to allude to the imagery of falling down the rabbit hole. But then  realised that Alice lands in a world completely different to her own. Different sights, sounds, smells, people. That’s not actually what’s happened to me. This is more like it:

Have you ever felt like you’ve crossed over into a parallel universe? Your home looks the same, there are all the same familiar sounds and smells… the creaky floorboard in my room, the dog lying by the sofa, Radio 2 somewhere in a  distant room… and yet the world has altered. And it doesn’t seem real- in fact, this is completely surreal. Knowing that one day soon I will realise that this is my new reality is a sad and tiring feeling.

What I do have in common with Alice (Tim Burton’s Alice, at least) is the continued hope -and the sad knowledge that there’s no point hoping- that I can just pinch my arm and wake myself up from this strange dream.

2 thoughts on “Curiouser and curiouser

  1. S says:

    I feel like that sometimes as well and it takes a long time to shake it off. Hope everything is ok with you.

    S
    http://notjustmedical.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

